Home > Uncategorized > Plateau

Plateau

September 8, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve hit another plateau. I cannot get over 6 pull ups. (My goal is 12 consecutive wide-grip pull ups.) I practice them 5 days a week (usually as my warm up to my normal routine) and there are days when I hit 6 and there are days when I hit 4. (Truth be told, I hit 4 more often than I do 6.) But I simply cannot pass 6. Rather than do consecutive reps, I’m going to try do sets of 2. So a set of 2, rest, another set of 2, rest, and so forth until I can’t do anymore. Hopefully that will break my stump.

On a different note, all my push ups have paid off. I can now comfortably bench press with 85-lb. dumbbells. I think I can bench with the 90-lb. dumbbells and hope to do that on my next chest workout.

  1. aknil
    September 8, 2011 at 9:43 am

    I tried this method out and i was able to increase my consecutive pullups to 17 now,
    start with a proper warm up and then do 4 sets of 4 reps pullups. then dont hit your lats hard for 1 or 2 days and do the pullup routine again and try to get one more rep this time.
    give your lats time to recover.
    you might find this website usefull, i have tried it out and it works:
    http://www.50pullups.com/50-pullups-programme/9-11-pullups

    good luck

    • LR
      September 9, 2011 at 5:37 am

      Awesome, thanks! I will give it a try. The straps made a huge difference, but even that “boost” is wearing off. I was starting to wonder if doing pull ups daily was limiting my recup time. Cool, I’m really psyched to try this!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

