Home > Uncategorized > Partial Rep Bench Press

Partial Rep Bench Press

I started doing a new benchpress routine this week. On a flat bench using a barbell with two 45-lb. weights:

1st rep: do one traditional bench press (as shown in pic); lower barbell very slowly, pause at lowest point…
2nd rep: lift mid-way, hold, then lower barbell very slowly, pause at lowest point…
3rd rep: back to the traditional bench press; lower barbell very slowly, pause at lowest point…
4th rep: lift mid-way, hold, then lower barbell very slowly, pause at lowest point…
5th rep: back to the traditional bench press; lower barbell very slowly, pause at lowest point…

Essentially, I’m doing one full-extension bench press (without locking my elbows) followed by a partial bench press. The latter keeps constant pressure on my chest muscles — working them at their weakest point. I read about this routine in Men’s Health and figured I’d give it a shot. It’s a lot harder than it sounds and so far the danger I’ve found is that after that 4th rep, it’s hard to tell how much power I have left in me, so that 5th rep has been a struggle. This is the first time I’m doing this so hopefully it’ll give my muscles a nice variety from the routine I’ve been doing. From what I’ve read, the partial motion works out your pecs more, whereas the full-range uses your triceps more.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

