Home > Uncategorized > Goal Update

Goal Update

I hit the half-point mark in my mission to do 12 consecutive, non-stop wide-grip pull ups. Today I was able to do 6 reps! Earlier this week I did 4 reps at the pull up station at Equinox (which is a lot wider and T-shaped than the pull up station I have at the gym in my building). I’ve also been able to do 50 consecutive push ups for the last 3 chest exercises I’ve done. So overall, I’m hitting my goals (or getting darn close to them) slowly, but surely.

  1. aknil
    May 27, 2011 at 6:59 am

    Congrats! keep it up and start thinking ahead of your goal ,already, that will move tha mind barrier of 12 a little further, in my experience that helps.
    im aiming for 50 consecutive pullups and i hope on next week’s test i can clean at least 10.

    • LR
      May 29, 2011 at 7:50 am

      Thanks! Yeah, most likely I will def want to increase my count once I hit 12 — but right now at 6 I’m realizing I lose my grip and that’s what causes me to stop. I could prob squeeze two more, but by the 6th rep I’m grabbing at the bar with my fingers (instead of my entire hand).

  2. aknil
    May 30, 2011 at 6:34 am

    I had that problem, get yourself a pair of lift straps and just in case you are thinking you would develop weak grips in the long run, you wont.
    use the straps for more than 4 reps pullup sets and dumbbell shrugs and they take you to a whole other level while taking the extra tension away from your joints.
    but remember the straps dont really work if your pullup bar is padded with soft rubbers cause in order to secure your strapped grip to the bar you need to be able to twist your wrist into that final firm gripping position.

    • LR
      May 31, 2011 at 4:20 am

      Good tip!! Thanks, the thought never crossed my mind. I tried using lift straps about a year ago when I was doing heavy weight / back exercises (and they made a huge difference — esp since I had a trainer at the time), but after I switched my routine and lowered the weight I stopped using them. Gotta dig them up again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

