Home > Uncategorized > Post-workout Nutrition: Take 2

Post-workout Nutrition: Take 2

I mentioned last month that I’m trying to watch what I eat after my workouts. It’s something that I’ve never really focused on before. Well, here’s another article (courtesy of my gym, Equinox) that helps give you an idea of what you should eat after and before each workout.

Personally, I’ve been eating either fruit (an apple and a banana), or a serving of Greek yogurt (I personally love Chobani because it’s low in sodium and has no cholesterol), or if it’s an evening workout — I’ll have fish and vegetables. My new way of thinking is: Intense workout + proper post workout nutrition + sleep/rest = win!

Equinox

  1. aknil
    May 27, 2011 at 7:53 am

    couldnt agree with you more, after losing 75pounds 3 years ago i was constantly workoing out but i had this eating-fobia in my mind and i always had low calorie low carb meals post workout but few weeks ago i changed my mind set and i do follow the same hardcore workout+proper nutrition+rest and i am already gaining muscle whilst my waist size is still the same and in fact my abs are getting more defined than they ever were.

    • LR
      May 29, 2011 at 7:55 am

      Yeah, it literally took me years to figure out that what you eat after a workout is just as important as the workouts themselves. I was overweight too and had that same phobia, but now I realize your muscles are pretty much destroyed after a workout — and without the proper nutrition, they won’t grow/repair. It’s difficult hitting the right balance, but man does it feel great once you do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

