Home > Uncategorized > Super Slow Drop Sets

Super Slow Drop Sets

December 13, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Saturday afternoon I switched up my workout routine. I’m now doing super slow exercises with drop sets. Here’s a basic run down of what I’m doing.

The first set is somewhat heavy with no more than 10 reps, the second set is lighter with 10 – 12 reps, the third set is heavy again like the first set, and the 4th set is light again. One of the trainers at my gym suggested this workout. The heavy weight will cause my muscles to grow and the super slow aspect works my muscles’ endurance. I gotta say, my back is insanely sore after Saturday’s workout. Here’s what I did:

EXERCISE 1: T-Bar Row
8 reps @70 lbs.
12 reps @45 lbs.
8 reps @70 lbs.
12 reps @45 lbs.

EXERCISE 2: Iso-lat Pull-down
8 reps @180 lbs.
10 reps @160 lbs.
6 reps @180 lbs.
8 reps @160 lbs.

EXERCISE 3: Seated Row
8 reps @135 lbs.
10 reps @85 lbs.
8 reps @135 lbs.
10 reps @85 lbs.

EXERCISE 4: Hyperextensions
12 reps
10 reps
10 reps
15 reps

I applied the same workout routine to my triceps and did tricep push-downs and pull-overs with drop sets and no-to-little rest in between. My triceps don’t feel as sore, but like I said, this is the most sore my back has felt in a very long time. I love it. Gonna stick with this drop set routine for a month and then switch up again.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

