Home > Uncategorized > Vitamin D talk

Vitamin D talk

December 5, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It wasn’t too long ago that I went to the doctor and found out that I needed to take a vitamin D supplement. And like the doctor recommended, I’ve been taking a 2,000 IU tablet every day. And then I read this. Turns out, there’s a lot of debate as to just how much vitamin D a person should take. Some doctors insist up to 50,000 units a week (that can’t be good), while others say taking too much vitamin D might be harmful.

My doctor recommended I take a 2,000 IU tablet every day, which in turn means I’m taking in 14,000 IU per week. That sounds kinda high, so I’m gonna chill with the vitamin D for awhile. Maybe I’ll take 3 tablets a week instead of 7. I did notice that two weeks into taking the 2,000 IU tablets I broke out a bit. Makes me wonder if it was related (probably not, but still makes me wonder). So long story short — going overboard (with anything) in my opinion cannot be a good thing.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

