Home > Uncategorized > To pay or not to pay

To pay or not to pay

September 7, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve been toying with the idea of dropping my Equinox membership. I’m trying to save money, and that $139 monthly fee would feel right at home in my savings account. I’m thinking of cutting my membership from October to June and reinstating it in June when I start running outdoors again. (Having Battery Park next to Equinox is so convenient for my outdoor running.) That would be a savings of $1,251. I have a gym in the building I live in, but it’s somewhat limited, and that’s what’s stopping me from ditching Equinox. The dumbbells in my building’s gym max out at 50 lbs. There are no bar bells. And there is no steam room.

I like the idea of going back to basics (I’d have to get very creative with my workouts if I ditch Equinox), but I’ve been going to a gym for almost 13 years now. (That’s $18k in gym dues. Yikes!!!) But I see it as an investment in my health and going to the gym really does make me feel better. Now you could say, why don’t I go to a cheaper gym. Well, my goal is to save money, not to pay less. That said, there is a Synergy near me that’s $40/month. I could do that. But I’d still be paying.

So there’s my dilemma. I really don’t know what to do. That said, today I had an awesome back and triceps workout at Equinox.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

