Home > Uncategorized > Neutralizing free radicals post workout

Neutralizing free radicals post workout

For the past month I’ve been trying to get a good post-workout meal after my training. I haven’t always been successful, but Mondays in particular I make it a point to snack on a pint of blueberries immediately after my cardio session. And you know what? It feels great! Here’s why I do it.

After every intense workout session, your body releases free radicals into your bloodstream. (They’re produced as your body undergoes stress. The more oxygen we use during a workout, the more free radicals we produce.) Free radicals aren’t good. They’re the reason you feel sore and stiff the day after a workout. In order to get rid of them, your body needs antioxidants. Antioxidants neutralize these free radicals, and as as result they significantly help your body recover after a strenuous workout. And what better way to get antioxidants into your system than with blueberries!

So overall, they’ve helped me recuperate faster and they’ve helped me lose weight believe it or not. So while it may not always be easy to have a full meal after a workout, I suggest trying a small pint of blueberries. Your body will thank you and you’ll feel great.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

