Home > Uncategorized > Picking the right running shoes

Picking the right running shoes

Back in 2001 when I ran the NYC Marathon, I went to the Super Runner’s Shop here in NYC to make sure I got the right shoes for my feet. They told me I was an over-pronator (meaning that my foot rolls inward with each stride), so they recommended the New Balance 857s. (Runner’s World has an excellent explanation of the different types of pronation.)

So I ran the marathon with those shoes and then some. (I actually still run in them!) Needless to say, it’s time for a new pair of shoes.

However, according to a recent study by the British Journal of Sports Medicine, the type of shoe you use does not have an effect on how you run. In fact, they found that these “corrective” shoes, might increase your chance of injury.

That said, I might get the New Balance 859s (the replacement to the 857s). I’m getting them not because I was told to get them, but because I found the 857s light and comfortable. And in the end, that’s all that should matter when you pick a running shoe. Make sure they fit well, that they’re comfortable, and that they allow your foot to breathe.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

