Home > Uncategorized > My food plan

My food plan

Not too long ago I watched the movie Food, Inc. It blew my mind. Shortly after, I watched Our Daily Bread and King Corn. I highly recommend all of them. However, if I had to pick just one, I’d say Food, Inc. is a documentary everyone should watch. It argues that we are killing ourselves by eating unhealthy, fast foods and contaminated meats.

Even if you don’t agree with what the movie states, no one can deny this country is filled with overweight people. That said, I’m taking my diet to a new level. I actually don’t like using the word diet, instead I’m just going to be a million times more careful what I put into my system. Here are the basic rules I will follow:

1)No soda or fruit juice
I eliminated soda a long time ago and dropped about 100 lbs. in the process. They’re empty calories. This past year I eliminated all fruit juices. They’re not healthy. I will only drink water or my own freshly made juices. I might partake in the occasional glass of wine or cup of tea. But 85% of my drinks will be water or pure, homemade juice.

2)No fast food
I haven’t had fast food in ages. McDonald’s, Burger King, Chipotle, Subway, Five Guys — I don’t care how “trendy” your restaurant is. It’s still fast food. I’m done with you.

3)Exercise
I will (and have been for the past 13 years) exercise a minimum of 5x/week. I will devote two workouts per week to cardiovascular training and attempt to take my pulse as close to 185 bpm as possible.

4)Eat right
Meat is out of the question (unless I’m in a foreign country or I’m positive the meat I’m eating is clean). Poultry is out of the question too. I will eat seafood, but I will try to eat fresh seafood. I will look for low sodium foods. I will not use salt. I will stay away from butter as much as I can. Again, I’m not saying I will go vegan, but I will try to limit any sweets or fatty foods.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. May 29, 2010 at 1:17 am

    If only more than 51 people would hear about this..

  1. June 8, 2010 at 5:54 am
  2. August 11, 2010 at 5:14 am

Leave a Reply

