Home > Uncategorized > Medicine ball push-ups

Medicine ball push-ups

I have a love/hate relationship with push-ups. Even more so with medicine ball push-ups. I like how I feel after doing them, but motivating myself to do them is hard.

Every pay day, I do a chest workout that involves med ball push-ups. I do four exercises with four sets each. Here’s what my routine looks like:

Exercise 1
Dumbbell bench press 12 reps
medicine ball push-ups 16 reps total (8 per side)

Dumbbell bench press 8 reps
medicine ball push-ups 16 reps total (8 per side)

Dumbbell bench press 6 reps
medicine ball push-ups 16 reps total (8 per side)

Dumbbell bench press 6 reps
medicine ball push-ups 16 reps total (8 per side)

And so forth. I do it like a super-set. Immediately after I finish the first exercise, I jump into the med ball push-ups. No rest. I felt very powerful doing them today, I think it’s ’cause I had skipped my last “med ball push-up” day. The benefits of med ball push-ups are plentiful. They work your stabilizers, your shoulders, and depending on how far apart your legs are, they also work your core. (The closer your legs the more you hit your core.)

Usually by my 4th exercise I cut down the med ball push-up reps to 10 total (5 each side). They’re difficult, but it feels great and it’s an excellent alternative to the standard push-up.

  1. March 16, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Thanks for the ideas!

  1. May 29, 2010 at 6:01 am

Leave a Reply

