Home > Uncategorized > Dumbbell lunges

Dumbbell lunges

I don’t get to exercise my legs as much as I’d like to, so last Thursday I added the dumbbell lunge to my shoulders/biceps routine. Lunges are very simple, yet extremely effective since they workout your entire leg.

So I did 4 shoulder exercises (each exercise consisted of 4 sets). After each set, I would immediately jump into a set of lunges. 6 reps for each leg. So my workout looked like this:

Exercise 1
Shoulder press 10-12 reps
Lunges 12 reps (6 with my left leg, 6 with my right)

Shoulder press 6-8 reps
Lunges 12 reps (6 with my left leg, 6 with my right)

Shoulder press 6-8 reps
Lunges 12 reps (6 with my left leg, 6 with my right)

Shoulder press 6-8 reps
Lunges 12 reps (6 with my left leg, 6 with my right)

And that above is one exercise. So by the end I did a total of 192 lunges. Needless to say this past weekend my legs were a mess. I was insanely sore. (Mind you I was only using two 15-lb. dumbbells.) I gotta say it felt great though. Saturday morning I hit the stairmaster for 20 minutes and my legs were still very sore. Today when I hit the treadmill they were a lot better.

If you want to change your workout a bit and keep your heart rate high, I recommend the above routine.

  1. aknil
    May 27, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Hi, Nice blog you got here, im trying to do the same thing you do here, really motivational keep it up!
    I wouldnt do shoulders and legs in one day cause the blood flow can not fully focus on one muscle group (thast might be a reason to your extreme sore legs, there was not enough blood flow to wash the lactic acid away). but lunges are great, i did my legs yesterday and i was googling lunges photos for my blog and endedup here 🙂

    • LR
      May 29, 2011 at 7:45 am

      Hey, thanks! Never thought about the blood flow issue w/ doing legs and shoulders on the same day. Sadly, my leg workouts have slipped. Aside from my uphill runs — I haven’t really worked out my legs. Don’t know why, it’s just the one body part I ignore at the gym (I realize I shouldn’t though.)

  2. aknil
    May 30, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Uphill runs will give you definition in your quads and hams and a pair of good ripped calves (if you run on your toes of course). but remember it works your slow twitching muscle fibers and that ,depending on your genetics, is not morethan %40 of the musce group. do a heavy low reps squads or leg press and you can take care of the rest %60.
    legs are the hardest part to train, but remember leg workouts burn alot more calories compared to the chest and shoulder workout mainly cause they are huge muscle groups, so you will achieve your goals faster and you dont want to have a nice upper body and chicken legs so get yourself motivated and do the legs.

    • LR
      May 31, 2011 at 4:26 am

      Yup, totally agree. I think I just needed to be reminded of that. Don’t know why legs (and abs) are the two body parts I neglect the most.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

