Home > Uncategorized > Train the pain away

Train the pain away

Running a marathon is a painful experience. It’s rewarding, but also painful. I remember the first time I ran 18 miles. I thought I was gonna pass out. I did 3 laps around Central Park’s outer loop (which is about 6.1 miles in length.) By the time I was 1/2 way through the third loop, I wanted to stop and lay down on the floor. My feet hurt, my legs burned, and my entire body was down for the count. Yet I ran it and finished it. I embraced the pain.

I sincerely believe that training/working out is 70% mental and 30% physical. A lot of times you stop doing an exercise because it’s uncomfortable, and not because the weight is too heavy or your muscle has reached its failing point. So if you train your mind to embrace the pain, you’ll find you can do much more.

I’m not saying this is an easy thing, but it is something that I have learned to do. Sorta. The trick is to focus. Focus on the “pain.” Then try to convince yourself that it feels good. Convince yourself that it’s like a “runner’s high.”

I did that today while I was doing shoulder presses and it worked. I wish I could say this works all the time, but you really have to be in the zone for it to work. In other words, you have to focus like nothing else exists. Trust me, if you do it once, you’ll want to keep doing it over and over.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 19, 2010 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

